UNI eLearning Suite

Make my Blackboard Learn course(s) available to students

Blackboard Learn (Bb Learn) courses are created as "Unavailable".

"Unavailable" means that an instructor has access to the course, but students do NOT see the course listed in their My Courses list. Instructors have to make the course "available" to allow students access to the eLearning course.

There are two options to make your Blackboard Learn course available:
Note: Since the availability change is instant, we recommend toggling availability at the beginning and end of the semester only to avoid student confusion.

Option one:

  1. Log into Bb Learn and enter the course.
  2. In the top right corner, find a Padlock icon.
  3. If the course is unavailable for students, you will see this red padlock icon. Locked Course Icon
  4. If the course is open for students, you will see this grey padlock icon. Pad Lock Icon
  5. To change the availability for students. Click either Padlock icon, this will toggle your availability instantly.

Option two:

  1. Log into Bb Learn and enter the course.
  2. In the Course Management menu under Customization, click Properties.
  3. Under Set Availability, check the radio button next to "Yes" for Make Course Available.
  4. Click the Submit button.

Students will now see this course listed in their My Courses list and can access it.
 

Student access once your class has completed:
At the end of the semester consider leaving your course(s) available to students for a few weeks to allow students access to their Bb Learn 'My Grades' module or grade related materials. Once you decide that students no longer need access to your Bb Learn course(s), you will need to make the course(s) "unavailable" by selecting "No" in step #3 or clicking on the padlock to close it.
 

Additional Resources/Tutorials:

     bb How to make a course available (article)

     youtube How to make a course available (video)