UNI eLearning Suite

How do I record and upload a Panopto video to my course?

1. Log into Blackboard and navigate to the course you would like to produce content for. 

2. Click on the "Tools" link from the left-sidebar menu. 

screenshot of tools link

3. Click on "Panopto Content". 

screenshot of panopto content link

4. Click on the green "Create" button at the top of the screen and select "Record a new session".

screenshot of create menu

5. A pop-up window will appear. Click on "Open Panopto Recorder" in either location. If you have never downloaded the Panopto recorder, follow the directions in this FAQ

screenshot of open panopto recorder button

6. Once the Panopto Recorder has opened, you will see a number of settings you can manipulate. At the top of the screen under "Session Settings", you should see the name of your course folder. If this is not the correct folder, click the drop down menu and locate the correct course. You can also name your video from this screen as well. 

screenshot showing the panopto recorder folder and name options

7. From the left sidebar under "Primary Settings" you will see a number of different menus where you can select different audio and video sources. If you would not like to record yourself, select "None" from the video drop-down menu. Make sure you have selected an audio source and that the meter is in the green zone when you are talking.

Under "Secondary Sources" you can choose whether you would like to record a PowerPoint presentation at the same time, or your main computer screen. You can add additional video sources as needed. Note: We recommend you always have "Capture PowerPoint" selected.

screenshot showing the video and audio settings 

8. When you are ready to record, click on the red "Record" button in the top-left corner of the screen. When you are finished recording, click the square "Stop" button. Note: At any time, you may pause and resume the recording. 

screenshot of record button

9. After you hit stop, a pop-up window will appear. Make sure to confirm that your video is going into the correct folder and that you have given it a name. If you were unsatisfied with the recording you can "Delete and record again". To officially upload your video, click "Upload". Note: If you leave this window open for longer than 1 minute, your video will be automatically uploaded. 

screenshot of upload or delete recording pop-up window

10. Your video will take a few minutes to upload and process. After your video has been fully processed, you can view, edit, or share a link to your video. 

Screenshot of edit, share, view menu