UNI eLearning Suite

How do I delete outdated Panopto content?

Deleting Panopto Sessions

If you have Creator access to a Panopto video, you have the power to delete it. Deleting a Panopto session does not delete them permanently. This process removes the video from that folder and stores them in the Recycle Bin for 90 days.
Note: If there is more than one Creator for the Panopto folder, be sure you are only deleting a session you own or that has been agreed upon by all Creators.
 

1. Navigate to Panopto and sign in using your CatID and passphrase.

2. On the left sidebar menu, click “Browse” and click on the folder that contains the video(s) you wish to delete.

3. Hover over a video and click the check box in the upper left hand corner of any videos you wish to delete. Note: You can delete multiple videos at a time using this method.  

4. When you have selected the video(s) you want to delete, click the "Delete" button.

A screenshot of checkbox and delete button boxed in red.

5. You will be prompted to confirm your decision. If sure, click the "OK" button.

A screenshot of prompt from panopto

Manage the Recycle Bin

When you delete a Panopto video session(s), the deleted session(s) gets moved to the Recycle Bin for 90 days before it is permanently deleted. 

 

1. To access the Recycle Bin, click on 'System' on the bottom left corner of the screen. Then, select 'Recycle Bin'. 

screenshot of recycle bin boxed in red

2. Here, you should see your deleted Panopto session(s) that hasn't been permanently deleted yet.  

3. To restore a session, hover over the video and click 'Restore'.

screenshot of restore button boxed in red

Note: This brings the video back to its original folder and is no longer deleted.

 

 

Deleting Panopto Folders

If you have Creator access to a Panopto folder, you also have access to delete the Panopto folder. We recommend that you only delete empty Panopto folders to help ensure you don't accidentally delete Panopto videos that you still need or want.

 

1. Navigate to your desired folder by clicking 'Browse' on the left hand side of the screen. This displays 'All Folders' and 'My Folders'.

2. Click on desired folder to open the folder. 

3. To access the folder settings, click the Settings icon in the top-right corner of the folder. 

screenshot of settings icon boxed in red

4. Click 'Manage' from the menu on the left hand side. Now, you have the option to delete the folder and all of its data. Click 'Delete' in blue to delete the folder and all of its contents. Again, we suggest to only delete empty folders. 

screenshot of delete folder button boxed in red

5. You will be prompted to confirm your decision. If sure, click the "OK" button.

screenshot of deleting folder prompt from panopto

Note: The folder itself does not go into the Recycle Bin. The contents of the folder go into the Recycle Bin for 90 days. If you restore a video that was deleted with a folder, the folder will be recreated with that restored video inside. 

 

 

Scheduled Maintenance

No planned maintenance at this moment